This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

There is a made for TV version. I believe it was made for German television.

I saw it years ago but have no idea where or if it is available.

I had the privilege of performing on stage with Haydee and Cragun in Cranko's R&J and I strongly concur that they were astounding.

When I was a scholarship student at Pa. Ballet School, Stuttgart Ballet came to town and used some of us to super in R & J. Then the next year when I moved to NYC, they were at the Met and I got to super in R & J and Swan Lake. My favorites where Haydee & Cragun. I used to stay at the wings even though we weren't supposed to, and watch. I actually wasn't tall enough for SL, but they let me do it anyway since they remembered me from Pa.Ballet. That was in the 70's and I don't think there has been a better R & J than theirs. The pas de deuxs were exquisite!

richard53dog,

I have a hunch Onegin is not easily available; I bought mine quite a while ago. Here's what I have; Put out by Home Vision only on VHS tape: "Onegin". On the cover is printed "THE WORLD OF DANCE #17", "RM Arts presents The National Ballet of Canada in John Cranko's production of Tchaikovsky's 'Onegin'". On the back: "Licensed worldwide by NVC ARTS INTERNATIONAL" The copyright is 1986. There's a toll free phone number for World Vision: 800 262 8600.

Giannina

richard53dog,

I have a hunch Onegin is not easily available; On the back: "Licensed worldwide by NVC ARTS INTERNATIONAL" The copyright is 1986. There's a toll free phone number for World Vision: 800 262 8600.

Giannina

Giannina,

I think your hunch is good; the World Vision TF# is disconnected. But maybe NVC ARTS might yield something. If I find something out, I'll report back.

But thanks none the less for digging out the tape. And I feel if something was released once, there is a chance it will come out a second time.

Richard

richard53dog,