This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Bush and the NEA

I hope this topic doesn't get thrown out because it does involve all of us. How does everyone feel about Bush taking money away from the National Endowment for the Arts? I know as an artist, I was hurt by this because living in a country where basketball and football stars are treated like kings, we just continue to get lower and lower on the totem pole. And maybe because the NEA hasn't been getting the grants that it used to, is because PBS isn't showing the amount of Classical Arts that it used too? Just interested to see where this topic goes.

Thanks again!

This is about arts, so it's fine (thank you for raising it). Our prohibition on politics is about having slogans in signature lines, or working "stupid as ***" into artistic arguments.

The NEA has been cut and cut and cut --you're right. The arts are always the first thing that goes. This country has never really bought into state support for the arts for historical reasons (we don't descend from the tradition of kings and princes supporting art, a responsibility that later democracies took over.) More money for the arts! But it's unlikely to become a campaign slogan.

I hope we have some who support the administration's position -- I'd be genuinely interested to hear it defended.

I am far from a defender of the administration's position, but I read in the New York Times this week, "The White House on Thursday called for an increase of $18 million in the budget for the National Endowment for the Arts this coming fiscal year." Of course, even with this increase, the NEA budget will be far lower than it was at its peak. And some members of Congress have expressed opposition to any increase. I also found it interesting that the announcement was made by Laura Bush, not her husband, who apparently has weightier things on his mind -- like steroids.