This Site Uses Cookies. If You Want to Disable Cookies, Please See Your Browser Documentation. ×

Question about arms in Corsaire

Hi.

I am studying Medora's variation from the Corsaire pdd (or pas de trois), the slow version. I am watching variious versions on video. One of them is Margot Fonteyn (with Nureyev) I have noticed that both in her and his variation they sometimes place their hands on their shoulders. Is anyone able to tell me the meaning of this? I need to know the meaning of my movements when I dance, that is why I ask.

thanks!!!

silvy

Mel, could you please elaborate a little? Did Petipa have particular Gk friezes or Turkish customs in mind? I ask because I'm about 60% certain that Fokine asks the spectre de la rose to place both hands en epaulette and kneel (or am I dreaming?), and Florine definitely brushes alternate hands en epaulette during the echappes of her variation. In purely classical terms, these provides a note of piquant imbalance in relation to the symmetrical V of her legs. The same could be said of the "j'ecoute" posture of the Prelude dancer in Les Sylphides, though somebody (I hope not Fokine!) rather cornily said that she is hearing the music of the spheres.

PS I was definitely wrong about Spectre. I have riffled through my books, and the arms seem always to be draped over the head, either in a collapsed couronne (bras en saule?) or with the hand almost, but not quite, touching the opposing shoulder. I was clearly crossing lines with the golden slave.